Case Sharing allows your field team to share responsibilities of a case load.
In the default CommCare model, each CommCare user has their own list of cases, comprised of the cases he/she has created. When a mobile worker registers a pregnant mother on CommCare Mobile, let's call her 'Monica' in this example, the 'Monica' case will only appear in this specific mobile worker's case list (What's a case list is? Learn more). The 'Monica' case will not be show in anyone else's case list, meaning no other mobile worker can perform a follow-up visit with Monica.
Case Sharing changes this model by allowing mobile workers to share cases with other CommCare users.
To do so, you'll create a case sharing group, then add mobile users to that group. All mobile users within a single case sharing group have access to the cases other members of the group have created. These Case Sharing Groups allow multiple mobile workers to share responsibility for a group of cases, by making it seamless for different workers to conduct different pieces of overall project services for a single case.
Some common use cases:
One very important thing to note is that if case sharing is turned on for your app, all users must be in exactly one case sharing group. Users not in a case sharing group will cause errors, and users in more than one group will cause errors if they ever create a case. The only time that it is valid to add a user to multiple case sharing groups is if they will only ever be reviewing or modifying existing cases, and never creating new ones. For more on this use case, see Assigning cases to one of multiple groups.
You can structure your case sharing groups such that a "supervisor" user is in multiple case sharing groups. If you are on the Standard plan or higher, this is easy to set up through Organizations. For more information, see Assigning cases to one of multiple groups.
Often if you have an error in case management (i.e. you did not follow one of the steps above), you will see a message indicating that your user is not in a case sharing group or is in more than one case sharing group. If you see this, go back and check your case sharing settings. It is likely that 1 of your users is not in exactly one case sharing group.
Q: If a case was created before case sharing was turned on and the case sharing group was created, does that case get reassigned automatically to that group's owner id, or does the case retain its original owner id?
A: The case should retain the original case owner ID
Q: What is the difference between user id and owner id?
A: The owner ID is the id of the user or group who owns the case (the case will appear on their application's case list). User id is the id of the user who last submitted a form to the case.
Q: What happens if two mobile users are sharing a case, are both working offline, and both make changes to the case?
A: Once the forms are submitted they will update the case in the order in which they are received (according to the server received time). If one of the forms closed a case and a subsequent form attempts to update that case, the case will not be reopened but the (now closed) case will be updated.
Q: Is there a way to specify case sharing for different groups by menu or a specific case type?
A: Unfortunately this use case is not currently supported in the app builder. However, you can configure this manually by specifying the "owner_id" property for new cases which you don't want to share to be set to the id of the current user (defined in the form as a hidden value) in the normal case property configuration screen. That will result in those cases not being shared.