You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 10 Next »

If you have admin access on your CommCareHQ domain, you can transfer/re-assign cases that are registered on one Mobile Workers case list to another Mobile Worker through the Data tab. 

  1. Click on Data on the top header of CommCareHQ.
  2. Click on "Reassign Cases"
  3. Select the case that you would like to re-assign to another mobile worker. To find the case, you may open other filter options and search by Mobile Worker or Group. Filtering by date will display any case that was modified within the time range you have specified.
  4. Tick the checkbox of the case you would like to re-assign. 
  5. An options menu will open above the filtered case list where you can choose to re-assign to a particular user or a group. Select the Mobile Worker to whom you'd like to re-assign the select case. 
  6. Click re-assign.

Use cases:

  1. A Mobile Worker has been replaced or removed from the project and the new Mobile Worker requires the existing case list. 
  2. A case has migrated from one catchment area to another and therefore needs to be monitored by another Mobile Worker in your project.
  3. Multiple users are sharing case lists in a group (i.e. if you have case-sharing enabled for your project).
  4. You have re-organized usernames and would like to protect case lists. 
  5. A worker has accidentally registered cases under another Mobile Worker's log-in, or has registered cases in demo mode (note that you cannot easily distinguish among owners of demo cases, so carefully check that you are transferring the correct demo case)

IMPORTANT NOTE:When you move cases to a new user, you are ONLY moving the "case"– not the individual form submissions.  It is strongly recommended that you NOT delete any "old" users if you want to be able to do any sort of data analysis.  Individual form submissions will always remain linked to the user that submitted them–even if that user is no longer active.  If you want to hide an old user's data you can "deactivate" the worker under the "settings & users" section of CommCareHQ.

EXAMPLE:

When you transfer cases that belong to mobile user "Lalita" to mobile user "Sheela", the transferred cases will be reflected on Sheela's case list on her phone once her phone syncs to CommCareHQ. On the server side, form submissions made by Lalita  will always be linked to username Lalita because she completed those forms.  The change will however be reflected in the case exports, which will show Sheela as the new owner of the case. Any new form submissions completed by Sheela for the transferred case will reflect Sheela as the username in the forms exports. The old submissions for that case will still remain under the username "Lalita" 



  • No labels